Fuseworks Media

Spotlight on Tairawhiti for local government meeting – Gisborne District Council

Tairāwhiti is set to welcome more than 50 Elected Members, Chief Executives and invited guests from councils and government agencies across the lower North Island at Midway Surf Lifesaving Club this week.

Over two days (Thursday 21 March – Friday 22 March), the biannual Local Government Zone 3 meeting is an opportunity for leaders from 18 local government authorities and Local Government New Zealand (LGNZ) to network with their counterparts in neighbouring regions and discuss perspectives on national issues and matters relevant to the zone’s geographical area.

Gisborne District Council and Mayor Rehette Stoltz were eager to invite fellow Mayors and officials to Tairāwhiti for the first meeting of 2024, to both showcase our region and share the progress and challenges facing our communities through the recovery.

“It’s not often we have an opportunity to invite members from neighbouring councils to experience what our beautiful region has to offer,” says Mayor Stoltz.

“So, while the kaupapa is about relationship building, sharing information across regions and hearing from guest speakers on a range of topics, I look forward to manaaki our guests and showcasing our culture, environment, community assets, local food and businesses.”

Tangata whenua from Rongowhakaata will welcome attendees on day one, before delegates hear from co-chairs Mayor Andy Watson, Rangitikei District Council and Mayor Craig Little, Wairoa District Council, and LGNZ President, Sam Broughton.

Against the backdrop of Tūranganui-a-Kiwa / Poverty Bay attendees will hear from a range of guest speakers from local and national organisations and agencies, and undertake site visits to the new Kiwa Pools complex and Tairāwhiti CDEM Emergency Co-ordination Centre.

Ministers and government officials will address delegates on day two, with updates on Three Waters, partnership opportunities with local government and the draft Government Policy Statement on land transport.

Attending delegates include Mayors, Chairs, Chief Executives and Elected Members from the following Councils:

o Rangitikei

o Wairoa

o Napier

o Horowhenua

o Hastings

o Central Hawke’s Bay

o Hawke’s Bay

o Whanganui

o South Taranaki

o Horizons (Manawatū-Whanganui)

o Whanganui

o Palmerston North

o Taranaki

o Ruapehu

o Kawerau

o Opotiki


Powered by Fuseworks and Truescope - Media monitoring, insights and news distribution for New Zealand organisations.