Fuseworks Media

Seven candidates to contest Malvern Community Board by-election – Selwyn District Council

Seven candidates have put their names forward, seeking a place on the Malvern Community Board.

Nominations for candidates in the Malvern Community Board by-elections closed at midday today, with three nominations received for one vacancy in the Hawkins Subdivision and four nominations received for one vacancy in the Tawera Subdivision.

The list of candidates is set out below and can also be viewed at www.selwyn.govt.nz/elections.

Voting processes will be required in both subdivisions, with voter packs being mailed out to enrolled electors next month.

The strong turnout of candidates was a positive sign for the community.

“It’s encouraging to see so many people looking to get involved and represent their community. Having a good range of candidates means Malvern residents will get a good say in who represents them on the board,” Mayor Sam Broughton said.

Public notices formally announcing candidates’ names will be published later this month on the council website selwyn.govt.nz/elections and in local papers.

Candidate profiles and contact details will also be made available on the Council website or on request from the deputy electoral officer: electoral.officer@selwyn.govt.nz.

Voting Arrangements

If you live within the Malvern Community Board area and are enrolled on the parliamentary electoral roll you should get a voter pack sent to you for this by-election next month. Voter packs will be mailed out to those enrolled on Thursday 23 November, with the voting period closing at midday on Friday 15 December 2023.

Special voting facilities will be available from the Darfield Service Centre/Library or the Council headquarters in Rolleston throughout the voting period for anyone eligible who doesn’t receive a voter pack or needs replacement voting papers.

Anybody needing more information on the by-election process can contact the Electoral Officer on 0800 666 048 or iro@electionz.com.

Nominations as at 12 midday Thursday 19 October 2023:

Hawkins Subdivision

Brian Donnelly

(1 Vacancies)

Rob Lawrence

John Verry

Tawera Subdivision

Phil Freeman

(1 Vacancy)

Vicky Frost

Michelle Johnson

Bill Woods


Powered by Fuseworks and Truescope - Media monitoring, insights and news distribution for New Zealand organisations.