Fuseworks Media

New Zealander of The Year finalists 2024 announced

The New Zealander of the Year Awards team announces the Finalists in seven categories for the 2024 Kiwibank NewZealander of the Year Awards Ngā Tohu Pou Kōhure o Aotearoa.

From thousands of nominations, these remarkable individuals stood out; identified by an independent judging panel as upholding the mana and spirit of what it means to be a New Zealander.

Over the last year, these finalists have consistently sparked joy and impact across the motu. 

In the wake of several years filled with uncertainty, 2023 marked a unique year for Aotearoa. Through change and re-navigation, as a nation, we’ve had the rare opportunity to look inwards and move in a new direction. 

Focusing our attention to the challenges and opportunities that exist right here on our shores.

The annual Kiwibank New Zealander of the Year Awards celebrate New Zealanders from all walks of life; those who inspire, give hope and lead across its seven Award categories.

Earlier this year, the Awards team called on New Zealanders to honour the extraordinary people throughout our nation, those who use their passion to make Aotearoa a better place, by casting a nomination. Thousands of nominations were then rigorously evaluated by an independent and diverse judging panel, which resulted in the top three Finalists being selected across each category

The ultimate category winners across all seven categories will be revealed live at the New Zealander of the Year Awards Gala, set to take place on Wednesday 27 March 2024 at the Auckland Viaduct Event Centre.

Steve Jurkovich, Kiwibank Chief Executive, emphasises the significance of celebrating these contributions, stating, “If there has ever been a time to celebrate those who’ve made outstanding contributions to the well-being of our country, it’s now. It is a real privilege to honour the creativity, selflessness, and visionary people that help make us proud to call Aotearoa home.”

To stay up to date about the 2024 Kiwibank New Zealander of the Awards Ngā Tohu Pou Kōhure o Aotearoa, visit nzawards.org.nz and Instagram at @nzeroftheyear

Let us continue to celebrate and uplift the stories of these individuals who contribute to making New Zealand a better place for all.

Kiwibank New Zealander of the Year Te Pou Whakarae o Aotearoa

In alphabetical order

● Dr Jim Salinger

● Kiri Nathan

● Dame Sarai Bareman


University of Canterbury Young New Zealander of the Year Te Mātātahi o te Tau

In alphabetical order

● Ihorangi Reweti Peters

● Josiah Tualamali’i

● Simran Kaur


Ryman Healthcare Senior New Zealander of the Year Te Mātāpuputu o te Tau

In alphabetical order

● Bob Francis

● Mani Mitchell

● Neill Simpson


Spark New Zealand Innovator of the Year Te Pou Whakairo o te Tau

In alphabetical order

● Brianne West

● Cecilia Robinson

● Stefan Powell & James Powell


Mitre 10 New Zealand Community of the Year Ngā Pou Whirinaki o te Tau

In alphabetical order

● Aviva

● Cyclone Gabrielle Volunteers

● Te Puna Reo o Manga Tangaroa


Kiwibank New Zealand Local Hero of the Year 2024 Te Pou Toko o te Tau

In alphabetical order

● Dr Olive Webb

● Matt Brown

● Sally Walker


Ministry for the Environment New Zealand Environmental Hero of the Year Te Toa Taiao o te Tau

In alphabetical order

● Graeme Atkins

● Nicola MacDonald

● Stuart Muir


Powered by Fuseworks and Truescope - Media monitoring, insights and news distribution for New Zealand organisations.